Ultrafast Dynamics Group
Frédéric Laquai's Group


Dr. Frédéric Laquai

Principal Investigator
Associate Professor, Material Science and Engineering​​​​​​

Research Interests

The current research of the group focuses on studying the fundamental processes underlying solar energy conversion, for instance photophysical phenomena in excitonic solar cells including polymer and small molecule organic as well as hybrid and perovskite solar cells. Processes such as exciton dissociation, charge carrier generation, transport, recombination, and triplet state formation are investigated by broadband transient absorption (TA) pump-probe spectroscopy, time-resolved photoluminescence (TRPL) spectroscopy, and various other steady-state and electro-optical experiments. Furthermore, the group aims to advance existing spectroscopic techniques, to develop novel measurement tools, and uses sophisticated data analyses methods such as multivariate curve resolution analysis to get unprecedented insights into photophysical phenomena.  ​    

Selected Publications

Triplet state formation in photovoltaic blends of DPP-type copolymers and PC71BM

J. R. Ochsmann, D. Chandran, D. W. Gehrig, H. Anwar, P. K. Madathil, K.-S. Lee, and F. Laquai

Macromol. Rap. Comm., (2015)


Charge Carrier Transport and Photogeneration in P3HT:PCBM Photovoltaic Blends

F. Laquai, D. Andrienko, R. Mauer, and P. W. M. Blom, 

Macromol.Rap. Comm., (2015)


The Impact of Donor-Acceptor Phase Separation on the Charge Carrier Dynamics in pBTTT:PCBM Photovoltaic Blends

D. W. Gehrig, I.A. Howard, S. Sweetnam, T. M. Burke, M. D. McGehee, and F. Laquai

Macromol. Rap. Comm., (2015)

Accepted Manuscript


Sub-ns Triplet State Formation by Non-Geminate Recombination in PSBTBT:PC70BM and PCPDTBT:PC60BM Organic Solar Cell

F. Etzold, I. A. Howard, N. Forler, A. Melnyk, D. Andrienko, M. R. Hansen, F. Laquai

Energy Environ. Sci., (2015)


Interplay Between Side-Chain Pattern, Polymer Aggregation, and Charge Carrier Dynamics in PBDTTPD:PCBM Bulk-Heterojunction Solar Cell

C. Dyer-Smith, I. A. Howard, C. Cabanetos, A. El Labban, P. M. Beaujuge, F. Laquai

Adv. Energy Mater. 2015, 


Efficiency-Limiting Processes in Low-bandgap Polymer:Perylene Diimide Photovoltaic Blend

D. Gehrig, S. Roland, I. A. Howard, V. Kamm, H. Mangold, D. Neher, F. Laquai,

J. Phys. Chem. C, 118 (35), 20077-20085, (2014)


Control of Charge Generation and Recombination in Ternary Polymer/Polymer:Fullerene Photovoltaic Blends using Amorphous and Semi-crystalline Copolymers as Donor

H. Mangold, A. A. Bakulin, I. A. Howard, C. Kästner, D. A. M. Egbe, H. Hoppe, F. Laquai

Phys. Chem., 16 (38), 20329-20337, (2014)


The Effect of Solvent Additive on the Charge Generation and Photovoltaic Performance of a Solution-Processed Small Molecule: Perylene Diimide Bulk Heterojunction Solar Cell

Sharenko, D. Gehrig, F. Laquai, T. -Q. Nguyen

Chem. Mater., 26 (14), 4109-4118, (2014)


High open-circuit voltage small-molecule p-DTS(FBTTh2)2:ICBA bulk heterojunction solar cells – morphology, excited-state dynamics, and photovoltaic performance

A. K. K. Kyaw, D. Gehrig, J. Zhang, Y. Huang, G. C. Bazan, F. Laquai and T. –Q. Nguyen 

J. Mater. Chem. A, 3, 1530-1539, (2015)


A Heteroleptic Push–Pull Substituted Iron(II) Bis(tridentate) Complex with Low-Energy Charge-Transfer States

A. K. C. Mengel, C. Förster, A. Breivogel, K. Mack, J. R. Ochsmann, F. Laquai, V. Ksenofontov and K. Heinze

Chemistry - A European Journal 21, 2, 704–714, (2015)


  • ​Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry, University of Mainz, Germany, 2006
  • Diploma in Chemistry, University of Marburg, Germany, 2003
  • Pre-degree in Chemistry, University of Oldenburg, Germany, 2000

Professional Profile

  • 2008-2015: Max Planck Research Group Leader (approx. equivalent to Assoc. Prof.), Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, Germany    
  • 2006-2008: Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, UK

Scientific and Professional Memberships

​German Chemical Society (GDCh)
German Physical Society (DPG)
Deutscher Hochschulverband (DHV)


  • ​Hoechst Lecturer Award of the Aventis-Foundation and the Chemical Industry Fund (FCI)
  • Walter Kalkhof-Rose Memorial Prize, Acadamy of Science and Literature Mainz
  • Non-stipendiary Research Fellowship in the Sciences, Clare Hall College, Cambridge
  • Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • Kekulé PhD Scholarship, Chemical Industry Fund (FCI)
  • Award of the prime minister of Lower Saxony for outstanding scientific achievements
  • 1st prize in Chemistry in the nationwide competition of young researchers "Jugend forscht", Germany. Received special prize of the German Research Foundation (DFG) for the best interdisciplinary research project