Ultrafast Dynamics Group
Frédéric Laquai's Group


Safakath Karuthedath

Postdoctoral Fellows

Research Interests

Safakath’s research interests are ultrafast spectroscopy and degradation studies of conjugated polymers and organic small molecule based solar cells and thin films. He focuses on understanding photophysics of organic solar cells in order to improve efficiency and stability of organic photovoltaics.

Selected Publications

  • S. Karuthedath, T. Sauermann, H-J. Egelhaaf, R. Wannemacher, C. J. Brabec, L. Lüer : The effect of oxygen induced degradation on charge carrier dynamics in P3HT: PCBM and Si-PCPDTBT: PCBM thin films and solar cells.  Journal of Material Chemistry A, 3, 3399-3408, (2014). 
  • M. Stephen, S. Karuthedath, T. Sauermann, K. Genevičius, G. Juška :  Degradation effects on charge carrier transport in P3HT: PCBM solar cells studied by Photo-CELIV and ToF, Proc. SPIE 9184, Organic Photovoltaics XV, 918424, (2014). ​     


  • P.hD. in Condensed Matter Physics, IMDEA Nanoscience,  Madrid, Spain and Universidad Autonema de Madrid (UAM), Spain​, 2015
  • M.Sc tech in Photonics, National Institute of Technology Calicut (NITC), Kerala, India, 2011
  • B.Sc in Physics, University of Calicut, Kerala, India, 2008